22.8 C
Delhi
Thursday, December 8, 2022
Home > Work Life BalanceLong Weekends 2020: Get Out and Get a Life

Long Weekends 2020: Get Out and Get a Life

Long Weekends in 2020

Missed a vacation last year?

Make it up for the lost holiday opportunities this year! The year 2020 has a good number of long weekends. You’ll be excited to learn that the year 2020 will take us on a roller coaster ride of excitement, with long weekends almost every month.

So, if you are planning for a subtle refuge or a mini-vacation, here is the list of holidays and long weekends in 2020. 

Get out, plan your holidays and get a slice of life outside the corporate jungle. Balance your work and life.

Create memories that make you laugh! So, without further ado here you go:

Long weekends in 2020  

Month

Long Weekend

Holidays

February

21-22-23 Feb.

Fri-Sat-Sun (Maha Shivratri)

March

21-22-23-24 March

Thu-Friday (Take leave)-Sat-Sun

April

4-5-6 Apr.

Fri-Sat-Sun (Mahavir Jayanti)

April

10-11-12-13 Apr.

Fri-Sat-Sun-Mon (Good Friday, Baisakhi)

May

1-2-3 May

Fri-Sat-Sun… (Labour Day)

May

23-24-25 May

Sat-Sun-Mon (Eid-ul -Fitr)

August

31 July -1-2-3 Aug.

Fri-Sat-Sun-Mon (EID-al-Adha, Raksha Bandhan)

August

8-9-11 Aug.

Sat-Sun-Mon (Take leave)-Tue (Krishna Janmashtami)

October 

2-3-4 Oct.

Fri-Sat-Sun (Gandhi Jayanti)

November

14-15-16 Nov.

Sat-Sun- Mon (Diwali)

November

28-28-30 Nov.

Sat- Sun -Mon (Guru Nanak Jayanti)

December

25-26-27 Dec.

Fri-Sat-Sun (Christmas)

 

Long Weekend in February 2020

Known as a month of purity in Georgian calendar, February, the shortest month of the year has in store one long weekend for you.

• Friday, 21 Feb. (Mahashivratri)
• Saturday, 22 Feb.
• Sunday, 23 Feb.

Plan for the February Long Weekend: Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Kodaikanal, Gulmarg, Lakshadweep, Coorg.



Is it time to break-up with your job when professional priorities overtake personal? Working hard is good, but everyone needs a break.


Long Weekend in March 2020
This is the time to find the flowers in full bloom and when the spring is at its best. Choose to visit places that are in bloom at this time of the year or you can opt for a colourful holiday – literally.

• Thursday, 21 March: Holi
• Friday, 22 March: Take a leave
• Saturday, 23 March
• Sunday, 24 March

Plan for the March Long Weekend: Vrindavan-Mathura for Holi, Fatehpur Sikri, Ooty for sight-seeing, Ranthambhore, Jim Corbet for wildlife spotting, and Dalhousie for a peaceful getaway.

Long Weekends in April 2020
April has a lot more than you may expect. It has two long weekends back to back. Take your pick.

• Saturday, 4 April
• Sunday, 5 April
• Monday, 6 April (Mahavir Jayanti)
• Friday, 10 April (Good Friday)
• Saturday, 11 April
• Sunday, 12 April
• Monday, 13 April (Baisakhi)

Plan for the April Long Weekend: Kerala for backwaters; scuba diving in the Maldives; Kashmir for the striking landscape; Shimla for its beautiful snow-clad mountains; Shirdi for the holy week; Thailand and Seychelles for the beaches.

Long Weekends in May 2020
May is when most of India starts feeling the heat and the itch to head to the cooler climes. It’s also the time when parents plan for summer holidays along with their kids. In 2020, May gives us another opportunity to take a break.

• Friday, 1 May (Labour Day)
• Saturday, 2 May
• Sunday, 3 May
• Saturday, 23 May
• Sunday, 24 May
• *Monday, 25 May (Eid-ul-Fitr)

Plan for the May Long Weekend: Bir Billing for trekking and paragliding, Kasauli for sight-seeing or wherever your heart takes you 😊

Long Weekends in August 2020
You can start August on a happy note by taking an off on 31st July, which is a Friday and you may have a leave on account of Eid-al-Adha or Bakr Eid as it is popularly known. In fact, you can end August on a happy note as well with Onam falling on 31st August, Monday 😊.

In between, if you take a holiday on Monday, 10 August, you get a 4-day long weekend. Note, make the most of your long weekends in August as there is no long weekend in September.

• *Friday, 31 July (Eid-al-Adha)
• Saturday, 1 Aug.
• Sunday, 2 Aug.
• Monday, 3 Aug. (Raksha Bandhan)
• Saturday, 8 Aug.
• Sunday, 9 Aug.
• Monday, 10 Aug. (Take a leave)
• *Tuesday, 11 Aug. (Krishna Janmashtami)

Plan for the August Long Weekend: Vegas for pub and beach life, explore the Amalfi coast in Italy, Ha Long Bay, Vietnam may also be a great choice, France, Turkey for a hot air balloon ride. Back home you can choose Rajasthan, Kerala or a quick getaway to the nearby hill stations.

Long Weekend in October 2020
October is when the real fun begins with the festivals of Dussehra and Durga Puja. Though, Dussehra this year, unfortunately, falls on a Sunday ☹. However, you can take respite in the fact that Gandhi Jayanti is on a Friday and that gives you a perfect long weekend for a quick getaway.

• Friday, 2 Oct. (Gandhi Jayanti)
• Saturday, 3 Oct.
• Sunday, 4 Oct.

Plan for the October Long Weekend: For a short weekend break, you can choose your nearby tourist destinations.


#WorkLifeBalance: If this is you. It’s time to Find Better.


 

Long Weekends in November 2020
November offers you two opportunities to get away from it all. One, in the first half of the month and the 2nd in the latter half of the month. Unfortunately, Diwali, this year falls on a Saturday (Nov. 14).

• Saturday, 14 Nov.
• Sunday, 15 Nov.
• Monday, 16 Nov. (Diwali Balipratipada)
• Saturday, 28 Nov.
• Sunday, 29 Nov.
• Monday, 30 Nov. (Guru Nanak Jayanti)

Plan for the November Long Weekend: You can choose to soak in the festivities or can plan for a quiet retreat near your city.

Long Weekend in December 2020
This is your last opportunity to make the best of your last weekend of 2020. Get out and let your hair down.

• Friday, 25 Dec. (Christmas)
• Saturday, 26 Dec.
• Sunday, 27 Dec.

Plan for the December Long Weekend: Amritsar, Goa, Nainital, Coorg or whatever fascinates you.

 You may also like: 

 *Dates may change.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article